## Thirty years of Polish Biophysical Society

In January 2002 together with Dr Ewa Banachowicz we started designing a logo for the Poznań branch of the Polish Biophysical Society. As we wished it to bear the date of the Society foundation, we asked Prof. Danuta Frackowiak for help and we learnt that the Polish Biophysical Society was founded in December 1971. Having learnt that it was just after its 30 anniversary we decided to organise a special seminar to celebrate the occasion, at the Institute of Physics, A. Mickiewicz University, Poznań. The Seminar took place on May 9<sup>th</sup> 2002, (see photo below). At the Seminar Prof. Danuta Frackowiak, a co-founder of the Society, told us about her work in biophysics and the development of research in the field at various scientific centres in Poland. You will find her presentation in this issue under the title "How I became a biophysicist". At the same time it has been suggested that the subsequent issue of the Current Topics in Biophysics should be devoted to recollections of the beginning and developments of the Polish Biophysical Society. The Chief Editor Prof. Andrzej Dobek wrote to the co-founders of the Society with the request to share their memoirs. In response Prof. T Wilczok sent a short paper "Reflections". Some information on the beginning of the Society were also provided by Prof. Wanda Leyko and Prof. Stanisław Przestalski. So what was the beginning?

Table. 1 The Temporary Board of the Polish Biophysical Society

| Function       | Name                            |
|----------------|---------------------------------|
| President      | Prof. Adam Paszewski            |
| Vice-President | Prof. Kazimierz L. Wierzchowski |
| Secretary      | Doc. J. Skierczyńska            |
| Member         | Prof. Wanda Leyko               |
| Member         | Prof. Stanisław Przestalski     |
| Member         | Prof. Piotr Strebeyko           |

Prof. Stanisław Przestalski (private information), who was at that time the President of the Wrocław branch of the Polish Physical Society, in March 1968 organised in Ustronie the first National Seminar on Biophysics. The Seminar was a success and was soon followed by another one organised in Kazimierz on Wisła on March 16<sup>th</sup>-18<sup>th</sup>, 1970 this time

Table 2 The branches of the Polish Biophysical Society organised in 1972.

| City      | President                   |
|-----------|-----------------------------|
| Białystok | Doc. Emanuel Trembaczowski  |
| Gdańsk    | Doc. B. Kwiatkowski         |
| Katowice  | Doc. Tadeusz Wilczok        |
| Lublin    | Prof. Adam Paszewski        |
| Łódź      | Prof. Wnda Leyko            |
| Poznań    | Prof. Danuta Frąckowiak     |
| Szczecin  | Prof. J. Dobrowolski        |
| Warszawa  | Prof. Piotr Strebeyko       |
| Wrocław   | Prof. Stanisław Przestalski |



Biophysical seminar, 9th of May 2002

Table 3. The Main Board of the Polish Biophysical Society in the years 1973 – 1976

| Function       | Name                            |
|----------------|---------------------------------|
| President      | Prof. Wanda Leyko               |
| Vice-President | Prof. Stanisław Przestalski     |
| Secretary      | Dr Roman Gondko                 |
| Treasurer      | mgr Maria Koter                 |
| Member         | Prof. Andrzej Morawiecki        |
| Member         | doc. J.Skierczyńska             |
| Member         | Prof. Kazimierz L. Wierzchowski |

under the name of the 2<sup>nd</sup> Symposium on Biophysics. At this Symposium a proposition of founding a scientific society grouping people working or interested in biophysics was accepted (Koter M. & Bartosz G. (1977). Działalność Polskiego Towarzystwa Biofizycznego. *Zagadnienia Biofizyki Współczesnej*, 2, 119-120) and fourteen persons were appointed to take up appropriate organisation work. The first meeting of the co-founders took place on April 17<sup>th</sup>, 1971 in Lublin. Among the co-founders were: doc. B. Adamczyk, Prof. J. Dobrowolski, Prof. D. Frąckowiak, doc. J.S. Kwiatkowski, Prof. W. Leyko, doc. St. Łukiewicz, Prof. A. Morawiecki, Prof. A. Paszewski, Prof. St. Przestalski, doc. J. Skierczyńska, Prof. M. Subotowicz, Prof. P. Strebeyko, doc. E. Trembaczowski, Prof. K.L. Wierzchowski oraz doc. T. Wilczok. At this meeting the Temporary Board of the Society was appointed (Table 1) who registered the Polish Biophysical Society at the proper administration office in Lublin on December 31<sup>st</sup>, 1971.

On October 28<sup>th</sup>, 1972, the co-founders of the Society met in Warsaw and appointed the organisers of nine branches of the Society, Table 2. In 1974 the Kraków and Olsztyn branches were organised and in 1976 the Kielce branch appeared. In April 1983 the Warsaw branch was, unfortunately, dissolved.

The first meeting of the Society was organised by Prof. W. Leyko and it was held in Uniejów on May 30<sup>th</sup> –June 1<sup>st</sup>, 1973. At the general meeting of the members, organized during this conference, the first Board was appointed (Tabela 3).

Further history of our Society is not so clear and has never been written down. For instance we have had many problems with reconstruction of the list of its Board members. It has crossed our minds if it would not be worthwhile to celebrate the 30 years of our Society with collecting the documents illustrating its work and achievements.

Genowefa Ślósarek Department of Molecular Biophysics, Institute of Physics, A. Mickiewicz University, Poznań