Announcement of the creation of the "Polish EMR Group [PEG]"

We are pleased to inform that during the First Forum EMR-PL held in Rzeszów, Poland, on 19th – 21st May 2010, an important General Meeting of the Polish EPR Society [PES] was convened. At this GM, attended by the majority of the Forum participants, the outgoing PES President, Prof. C. Rudowicz, has presented the President's Report for the period 24th April 2007 to 19th May 2010. The Report and attachments are available on the Forum website: http://emr-pl-2010.ptepr.pl/. A short conference summary (in Polish) together with a photo gallery has been posted on the Rzeszów University website: http://www.univ.rzeszow.pl/index.php?id=I Forum EMR PL.

The President's Report included also several key proposals concerning: (i) transformation of the PES and (ii) continuation of activities for the betterment of the EMR (EPR) community based on different principles and within a new organizational structure. After discussion, the 37 participants nearly unanimously (with one abstention) supported the President's proposals. The name 'Polish EMR Group' or 'Polish EPR Group' was to be decided by voting within the whole Polish EMR (EPR) community. A suitable Questionnaire (available also on the Forum website) has been sent by email to all EMR (EPR) researchers on our email list. The responses to the Questionnaire received so far indicate 28 votes in favor of the first option and 24 in favor of the second option. Therefore, the name 'Polish EMR Group' is duly adopted.

In the spirit of the proposed and accepted model of the new organizational structure, the following persons have been elected to the Council of the Polish EMR Group [PEG]:

- 1. President (nomination from the floor) Prof. C. Rudowicz, Institute of Physics [IoP], West Pomeranian University of Technology, Szczecin.
- 2. First Vice-President (person organizing the current Forum) Dr I. Stefaniuk, IoP, Rzeszów University.
- 3. Second Vice-President (person organizing the next Forum) Prof. K. Dziliński, IoP, Częstochowa University of Technology.
- 4. Secretary (person nominated by the President) Dr D. Piwowarska, IoP, West Pomeranian University of Technology, Szczecin.

Membership of the Council was voted by acclamation. As a non-electable member, the Webmaster of the PES/PEG homepages has been included in the Council; currently this is Dr S. Żurek, IoP, University of Zielona Góra. Additionally, representatives from each city in Poland, where EMR (EPR) research groups are active, have been nominated.

According to the President's proposals, it was decided to abolish the outdated and impractical PES Constitution as well as the membership fees. The membership of the Polish EMR Group has been extended to all persons dealing with the broadly meant area of EMR (EPR) research. Members are to be accepted based on a filled-in Membership Application / Update Form, from which the data will enable the existing database to be updated. Work is in progress on an electronic version of the Form, which will be available on the new PEG website: http://pgemr.pl/.

Czesław Rudowicz

Szczecin, 29th September 2010

President Polish EMR Group